I've heard from many who are still very annoyed that 2017 Hero World Challenge participant Hideki Matsuyama escaped penalty for repairing a divot as chunked chip rolled back toward the dreaded crater.
Because we've introduced intent into the rules--something the experts warned would create problems in situations like this--Matsuyama was able to say he did not intend to improve his forthcoming lie. It's a similar slippery slope golf has encountered with the backstopping movement where players say they are just intending to speed up play.
A few years ago this was a penalty and we had several instances in tournament golf where a player mistakenly improved the ground without intent (and typically out of frustration). But they still were penalized.
Matsuyama has gotten away with one here:
But as Missy Jones noted in answering a reader, we have to assume honesty.
It appears he knew what he was doing but the rules assume honesty. https://t.co/jX0ycT0Q8S— Missy Jones (@missyjonjones) December 2, 2017