Brian Wacker with a report on Seung-Yul Noh getting assessed a two-stroke penalty during Friday's second round of The Barclays after playing his second shot on the 11th hole. Only he did it from the third green where most golfers know you are required to take relief.
But the lie was so good!
Noh said that he was unaware of the rule but added that a rules official was 20 or 30 yards away watching the events unfold. After Noh hit his second shot the official informed him of the penalty. Instead of a bogey, Noh was given a 7 on the hole.
He went on to shoot a 1-over 72 and is 2 under entering the weekend at Ridgewood.
"I've been out here 33 years," said Vice President of Rules and Competition Slugger White. "We have never seen this happen."
I'm not sure who the caddie was in this case, but Noh has been on the caddie carousel program, most famously having his sister fire one because water in his bag was too cold. It's hard to get good service these days.
The video, which Ridgewood super Todd Raisch should not watch. Especially the effort to repair the divot!