Twitter: GeoffShac
  • Playing Through: Modern Golf's Most Iconic Players and Moments
    Playing Through: Modern Golf's Most Iconic Players and Moments
    by Jim Moriarty
  • Tommy's Honor: The Story of Old Tom Morris and Young Tom Morris, Golf's Founding Father and Son
    Tommy's Honor: The Story of Old Tom Morris and Young Tom Morris, Golf's Founding Father and Son
    by Kevin Cook
  • His Ownself: A Semi-Memoir (Anchor Sports)
    His Ownself: A Semi-Memoir (Anchor Sports)
    by Dan Jenkins
  • The Captain Myth: The Ryder Cup and Sport's Great Leadership Delusion
    The Captain Myth: The Ryder Cup and Sport's Great Leadership Delusion
    by Richard Gillis
  • The Ryder Cup: Golf's Grandest Event – A Complete History
    The Ryder Cup: Golf's Grandest Event – A Complete History
    by Martin Davis
  • A Life Well Played: My Stories
    A Life Well Played: My Stories
    by Arnold Palmer
  • Harvey Penick: The Life and Wisdom of the Man Who Wrote the Book on Golf
    Harvey Penick: The Life and Wisdom of the Man Who Wrote the Book on Golf
    by Kevin Robbins
  • Teeing Off: Players, Techniques, Characters, and Reflections from a Lifetime Inside the Game
    Teeing Off: Players, Techniques, Characters, and Reflections from a Lifetime Inside the Game
    by Ken Bowden
« USGA Kicks Off Water Summit For Absentee Voters | Main | Dick Rugge Only Has To Sit Through One More USGA Annual Meeting »

Wow: Blayne Barber DQ's Self Out Of Q-School Six Days Later

Sean Martin with the amazing story of Blayne Barber making it through the first stage at Callaway Gardens with a one-shot penalty that should have been two, and calling the PGA Tour six days later.

The call resulted in six players advancing to the second stage who otherwise were out.

Barber played the final two rounds because his caddie was certain the leaf hadn’t moved. “I continued to pray about it and think about it, and I just did not have any peace about it,” Barber said. “I knew I needed to do the right thing. I knew it was going to be disqualification.”

Barber called the PGA Tour on Nov. 2, six days after the tournament ended, to report that he had signed an incorrect scorecard. His disqualification moved the six players who had tied for 19th into a tie for 18th. The top 18 and ties at Callaway Gardens were slated to advance to Q-School's second stage.

“I just feel peace about it,” Barber said. “Doing the right thing and doing what I know is right in my heart and in my conscience is more important than short-term success.”

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments (31)

Prayed for 6 days? That's a lot of prayer. I wish I weren't such a skeptic.
11.5.2012 | Unregistered CommenterMike Urann
Mike, God was probably busy at the time and just couldn't get to him immediately, thus the delay. He talks to many people in case you haven't heard Webb Simpson and Michelle Bachman.However he came up with the "right thing to do", good for him.
11.5.2012 | Unregistered Commenterol Harv
I wonder what real problems in his life he's ignoring to be so consumed about a leaf that may or may not have moved.
11.5.2012 | Unregistered Commenterwilliam
The moving leaf rule is crap. However, looks like Jesus may have finally affected the outcome of a tournament.
11.5.2012 | Unregistered CommenterAverage Golfer
The power of Christ compelled him.
11.5.2012 | Unregistered CommenterMatt
Full marks. The longer he left it - the harder it would have been to make that phone call. Hopefully, he'll get another chance.
11.5.2012 | Unregistered CommenterIvan Morris
you can call me blayne or you can call me blaine but don't call me late to the tee! 2 wins and 2 losses in last 4 headlines.
11.5.2012 | Unregistered Commenterdon't be late
What would Lance Armstrong have done?
Oh please. Lets make this guy a saint. He prayed for 6 days huh ? He is going to heaven for sure and you are not.
11.5.2012 | Unregistered Commenterjay
I thought that once a tournament was declared final, any scoring error couldn't be corrected?
11.5.2012 | Unregistered CommenterBetterThanMost
My thoughts were the same as better than most's.

I applaud him for allegedly following the rules, since he was not sure.

However this is flawed rule, another case of a simple rule being lawyered up.

We look at the definition of a stroke, and yet people are punished for touching a leaf on the backswing---AND HOW CAN A STROKE OCCUR WITHOUT A BACKSWING?

Not everyone who ''thinks'' they ''may have'' caused a rules infraction are rewarded with wonderful victories in future days. I am not advocating cheating, but if someone doesn't know one way or the other, then to err against oneself is just dumb.
11.5.2012 | Unregistered Commenterdigsouth
Well, it certainly is a silly rule, but that makes his action all the more commendable, not less. How nice of many of the comments to make fun of his religion. This is not a PGA pro costing himself a tourney or some cash, this guy may never make it on Tour. Whatever the source of his conscience, be it the bible or the rules of golf, well done by Mr. Barber - I'm sure it was an awful 6 days for him as he agonized over this.
11.5.2012 | Unregistered CommenterBrianS
@digsouth, he knew he had touched the leaf - that's why he added the (insufficient) penalty before returning his score card. If he had spent about 10 seconds confirming the number of penalty strokes incurred before returning his score card then he would still be playing.
11.5.2012 | Unregistered CommenterBob Clarke
Not making fun, just questioning why his prayers were answered after 6 days of intense petitioning regarding a golf tourney while my cousin on Long Island has been praying with equal intensity, but still has no house, water, power, or gas. Yeah, I know, mysterious ways.
11.5.2012 | Unregistered CommenterAverage Golfer
AG, God is busy.
11.5.2012 | Unregistered Commenterol Harv
Correct me if I'm wrong, but he tried to get away with it didn't he?

I'm glad he ultimately fessed up, but...

...he exercised his discretion during the course of play when he decided to over-rule the interpretation by his brother (that the leaf did not move) and went ahead and penalized himself *1 shot*.

Later that night when he found out it should have been *2 shots* there was no discretion to be exercised, nothing to be prayed over -- this is an automatic DQ for signing an incorrect card. Rationalizing it with "you know bro was prob right, leaf prob didn't move", doesn't change the fact that it's *2 shots*, and he knew then that he needed to let the Tour know -- but he didn't. There was probably some inadvertant peer pressure involved (meaning buddies said "hell, don't sweat it, leaf didn't move") but that is no excuse.

So, the fact that he kept on playing with full knowledge of this information sure makes it look like he knowingly, well, you know....

As BetterThanMost said, once it's in the books, it's in the books, right? Did the PGA Tour make a special ruling and set that precedent aside because it determined the guy kept playing even after he knew he should have been DQ'd?

Looks to me like he was praying that nobody else would ever find out...

What am I missing?
11.5.2012 | Unregistered CommenterDTF
@ Bob C.

Thank you. I would add the penalty if I were certain- doggone, it's a rule....I guess reading with sweat in my eyes and no reading glasses warped my reading skill...... I hate that.

All the more reason for him to be accoladed (sp) for his honesty, but what about the ''when it's over, it's over''aspect? Agains, I'm sorry for my laziness tonite, but doesn't the score stand once the tournament had ended.

Thanks again.
11.5.2012 | Unregistered Commenterdigsouth
After having read DTF's post, it appears that I am just a bit more brain dead than normal, and my abilty to comment on the rules should be suspended for the evening.

I am, uh, ''DQ''ing myself....and a chocolate malt sounds real good.
11.5.2012 | Unregistered Commenterdigsouth
Praying that no one would find out...that's sounds more like it.

A gentleman gawfer (and all around good human) would have been moved to do the right thing simply by his ethics...not waiting for 'the one that they always refer to' (lord and savior jc, the one with the the pretty peach skin, and the long auburn locks, and the wispy mustache and beard, you know the guy, er, G, who helps me out when I holler).

That's right, me, not you, even though you might summon Him with as much zealousness, er, fervor, er, frequency, er, humility as me, you know, the real self righteous guy who let's everybody know how right my 'truth' is by telling you that without him I wouldn't have won this tourney with my anchored belly putter while my wife and I smugly snicker at my competitor choke it away down the stretch while we relax in the blue blooded comfort of the clubhouse (that's right I'm channeling Webb here).

How come old JC doesn't let Webb know that anchoring is cheating? It must not be cheating. Ooh, Webb, you have a rock solid angle for your anchoring ban lawsuit...JC says that anchoring is a legitimate stroke...and you can't argue with he's got that going for him.
11.6.2012 | Unregistered CommenterJimmy Swaggart
To leaf or not to leaf ... that is the question?

Shame he needed to call in an outside agency in the first place to take the right decision . Whatever happend to the good old-fashioned self-disciplines of integrity and honesty?

Strange set of circumstances. Up to the point he fessed up, it sounded like he kind of made a deal with himself but ultimately couldn't follow-through longterm. In taking a penalty, he effectively accepted he'd broken the rule but perhaps on learning he hadn't taken a big enough penalty, considered a one point penalty sufficient punishment, taking into account his caddie was certain he hadn't moved the leaf?

It's a theory!

I agree with the others that once the competition is closed, that's it. Perhaps a qualifying section is considered an integral part of the overall event and this is why he could be disqualified?
>> I agree with the others that once the competition is closed, that's it.

Take a look at Rule 34-1b(iii).
11.6.2012 | Unregistered CommenterBob Clarke
Plain and simple.......the thumper cheated.
11.6.2012 | Unregistered CommenterDTF
Bob, confess to being a 32 handicapper when it comes to knowing real details about the rules but was curious so went and read the one you mention. If that rule applied wouldn't Barber still be playing? Interested in by your interpretation. Thanks.
11.6.2012 | Unregistered CommenterDTF
Barber knew before the competition closed that he had been in breach of Rule 13-4c (knew that he had incurred a penalty) - getting the amount of that penalty wrong does not excuse him.
11.6.2012 | Unregistered CommenterBob Clarke
DTF and Bob...

I too read it, and was confused
11.6.2012 | Unregistered Commenterdigsouth
digger, I can't believe the guy isn't taking more heat.

Barber is informed *1 shot* is not enought, now has 2 choices:

1. Do nothing, say nothing, hope nobody notices.

2. Go directly to the rules official the next morning and reveal the situation.

He chose #1. Explain to me how that's not cheating.
11.6.2012 | Unregistered CommenterDTF
No doubt some of the most hateful comments I have read.
11.6.2012 | Unregistered Commentermixed bag
Not hateful. Maybe a little judgy, not any more judgy than a thumper letting you know that it's his faith that makes him right (and you wrong).

How about this? Thumper's guy in the sky causes leaf to move during backswing so that 6 deserving(?) fellows could still have a shot going forward.
11.6.2012 | Unregistered CommenterUbb
Del, the Morning Drivelers had him on this morning and they tried to get him to fess up, but were a bit like me, forgiving, his caddie insisting that ''it did not move'' made him leary of the DQ- but he finally called it.

They also had one of the 6 who got ''reinstated'' and he had found out last Friday from a PGA call, but did not know what/who had been DQed. He felt no animosity to Blayne.
11.6.2012 | Unregistered Commenterdigsouth
digger, I bet all 6 want to give him a BIG hug! They love him now!

He made a terrible mistake, and at least he owned up to it. But boiled down, what he did is really no different than what Vijay is accused of having done way back when. Unfortunately...
11.7.2012 | Unregistered CommenterDTF
Why does god hate amputees? Never, not even once will he have mercy on one. Why?
Wake up people! "I don't believe in magic, life is automatic" Noel Gallagher oasis
03.10.2013 | Unregistered CommenterDt

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.