What sounded like an unfortunate but no-brainer of a ruling, Brian Gay was assessed a shot after Gay stepped on his ball while looking for it in a 17th hole hazard. The penalty opened the door for 18 more players to make the cut, but even more stunning was how long Gay and caddie Kip Henley made their case after the Travelers Championship round.
By saying he’d come in contact with the ball, Gay was, in essence, saying just that, according to PGA TOUR VP of Rules and Competition Mark Russell — though Gay and caddie Kip Henley tried to state their argument for the better part of an hour after the round that the ball was already embedded.
Gay tried to play the ball out of the hazard, but it went just a few feet before he pitched up short of the green and eventually onto it and two-putted for a quadruple-bogey.
Heading into the final round, Brian Davis and Roland Thatcher hold the lead, Stuart Appleby and Padraig Harrington lurking. The highlights: