Latest From GolfDigest.com
Latest From The Loop
Twitter
Books
  • Lines of Charm: Brilliant And Irreverent Quotes, Notes, And Anecdotes from Golf's Golden Age Architects
    Lines of Charm: Brilliant And Irreverent Quotes, Notes, And Anecdotes from Golf's Golden Age Architects
  • The Future of Golf: How Golf Lost Its Way and How to Get It Back
    The Future of Golf: How Golf Lost Its Way and How to Get It Back
    by Geoff Shackelford
  • Grounds for Golf: The History and Fundamentals of Golf Course Design
    Grounds for Golf: The History and Fundamentals of Golf Course Design
    by Geoff Shackelford
  • The Art of Golf Design
    The Art of Golf Design
    by Michael Miller, Geoff Shackelford
  • Alister MacKenzie's Cypress Point Club
    Alister MacKenzie's Cypress Point Club
    by Geoff Shackelford
  • The Golden Age of Golf Design
    The Golden Age of Golf Design
    by Geoff Shackelford
  • The Good Doctor Returns: A Novel
    The Good Doctor Returns: A Novel
    by Geoff Shackelford
  • Masters of the Links: Essays on the Art of Golf and Course Design
    Masters of the Links: Essays on the Art of Golf and Course Design
  • The Captain: George C. Thomas Jr. and His Golf Architecture
    The Captain: George C. Thomas Jr. and His Golf Architecture
    by Geoff Shackelford
Current Reading
  • The Early Days of Pinehurst
    The Early Days of Pinehurst
    by Chris Buie
  • Arnie, Seve, and a Fleck of Golf History: Heroes, Underdogs, Courses, and Championships
    Arnie, Seve, and a Fleck of Golf History: Heroes, Underdogs, Courses, and Championships
    by Bill Fields
  • The Magnificent Masters: Jack Nicklaus, Johnny Miller, Tom Weiskopf, and the 1975 Cliffhanger at Augusta
    The Magnificent Masters: Jack Nicklaus, Johnny Miller, Tom Weiskopf, and the 1975 Cliffhanger at Augusta
    by Gil Capps
  • His Ownself: A Semi-Memoir
    His Ownself: A Semi-Memoir
    by Dan Jenkins
  • Professional Golf 2014: The Complete Media, Fan and Fantasy Guide
    Professional Golf 2014: The Complete Media, Fan and Fantasy Guide
    by Daniel Wexler
Classics
  • Golf Architecture in America: Its Strategy and Construction
    Golf Architecture in America: Its Strategy and Construction
    by Geo. C. Thomas
  • The Course Beautiful : A Collection of Original Articles and Photographs on Golf Course Design
    The Course Beautiful : A Collection of Original Articles and Photographs on Golf Course Design
    Treewolf Prod
  • Reminiscences Of The Links
    Reminiscences Of The Links
    by Albert Warren Tillinghast, Richard C. Wolffe, Robert S. Trebus, Stuart F. Wolffe
  • Gleanings from the Wayside
    Gleanings from the Wayside
    by Albert Warren Tillinghast
  • Planet Golf USA: The Definitive Reference to Great Golf Courses in America
    Planet Golf USA: The Definitive Reference to Great Golf Courses in America
    by Darius Oliver
  • Planet Golf: The Definitive Reference to Great Golf Courses Outside the United States of America
    Planet Golf: The Definitive Reference to Great Golf Courses Outside the United States of America
    by Darius Oliver
Writing And Videos
Feedblitz
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
« 2013 Masters Third Round Open Comment Thread | Main | Statement From Masters Tournament Committee On Tiger Penalty »
Saturday
Apr132013

Instant Poll: Should Tiger Woods Withdraw?

Some are calling on Tiger Woods to "man up" and withdraw from the Masters for violating the rules of golf.

He tees off at 1:45 ET.

Should Tiger Woods withdraw?
  
pollcode.com free polls 

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments (30)

I think he should have been DQ'd but I actually am not on the "he should WD" bandwagon.
04.13.2013 | Unregistered CommenterKeithT
Two quotes from Graeme Mc Dowell which are interesting and validl

"Take the fact that it was Tiger out of the equation and it is a fair ruling. Since it is him the debate begins about TV ratings etc etc"

"2 shot penalty for TW for wrong drop. New rule applied for trial by tv. Instead of retrospective DQ, player receives a penalty. Decent rule."
04.13.2013 | Unregistered CommenterStanley Thompson
*
04.13.2013 | Unregistered CommenterNubi
If the masters committee talked to him before he signed card, than he should play. If the masters officials did not talk to him, he should wd.
04.13.2013 | Unregistered CommenterMark
If Tiger drops out, who is the marker that plays w Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano??

I vote for Michael Phelps with Haney on the bag. Actually I'd like to see Sir Nick play.
04.13.2013 | Unregistered CommenterJohn C
he was dropping as far back as he wanted on line with point of entry and the hole....

he's fine
04.13.2013 | Unregistered CommenterDaphne
Boy, Brandel is more sanctimonious than ever today, and that's saying a lot. He wasn't DQed so why should he WD?
04.13.2013 | Unregistered CommenterBrad
Daphne - you are not correct, and Tiger agreed with that. He can't go backwards on that line - would have to be the line it entered the hazard last, which was off to the left. He's not fine, hence the 2 strokes. That is a given now.
04.13.2013 | Unregistered CommenterBrianS
My question is: What now? Possible scenarios:

1. Play to the end of the tournament;
2. WD and go home;
3. Play first hole, pick up before holing out and DQ himself, finish the round as a marker, essentially;
4. Play until the 18th green, then pick up, and therefore DQ himself;
5. Play the third round, sign a wrong scorecard, and DQ himself;
6. Exercise number 3, but in the final round;
7. Exercise number 4, but in the final round;
8. Exercise number 5, but in the final round;
9. Win the tournament, then DQ himself.

Any opinions?
04.13.2013 | Unregistered CommenterSmitty
help me out guys please because i dont know the rules of golf and fair play in all. can i relate this to playing tennis?, and the fair play rule of the game?. if im playing tennis and the ball ht's me or any part of my clothling while not being notice by my fellow opponent , crowd or umpire..., i will alway's give up the point to my opponent..., now, i play against guy's all the time that when i see the ball barely grazed them they will say no it didnt, when they know it did. so i dont know about golf rule's but it seems strange that eveybody on every channel..., and every blog is calling for him to do the right thing. did he know what he was doing was wrong?, and gaining him some unfair advantage?......help me out hear cause the hater's of tiger wood's are getting on my nerves and i really dont like him all that much....but it seems that there are many people mad cuase he's the greatest of all time.
04.13.2013 | Unregistered Commenterken williams
thank you brian..makes sense
04.13.2013 | Unregistered CommenterDaphne
Woods explained his decision, saying, "I went back to where I played it from, but I went two yards further back and I tried to take two yards off the shot of what I felt I hit."

- By his own admission he purposely improved his ball position from the original.
- He seems to be claiming he didn't know the rules. Highly unlikely.
- If unsure of the rule he could have called for a ruling, but didn't.

My guess? He's being doing this for years and finally got burned.

DQ him? I don't think so. It's about on the level of players who rush over to watch a rolling putt on a similar line as their own, or replace a marked ball to a slightly different but better spot.

Not ethical or strictly legal but doesn't significantly effect the outcome or harm the game.
04.13.2013 | Unregistered CommenterSkeptic
Yeah Skeptic, he's been hitting it in the water for years and then dropping illegally. About time he got caught.
04.13.2013 | Unregistered CommenterBrad
The fix is in,Joe lacava wants Freddie to win and didn't stop tiger from breaking the rule, the guy that yells baba blooey is joes uncle sal
I'm with skeptic. TW has made a career out of rinsing the ball and taking an unfair drop. Until they remove water from courses he'll continue to exploit this loophole in the rules. How many majors did he win on the up and up? 2 or 3 and that's being generous.
:)
04.13.2013 | Unregistered CommenterRon
Fred Ridley on GC now, and I think he is doing the very best job possible of explaining the ruling.

I give Ridley very high marks for his candor (part of the controversy rests on him) and for his clarity. I think his Committee's decision is defensible. I can't imagine any better answers to what were mostly pretty good questions.

I'll give Fred a pass on "unequivocably."
04.13.2013 | Unregistered CommenterChuck
I think the ruling was all correct, with the new rule concerning no DQ when a penalty is assessed after a scorecard is signed. This is *better* and more fair. Everyone who wants a DQ or him to WD is looking at this as if it were a year ago---but they created a new rule, a more fair rule, and all the fuss would not be happening of it were Kuchar or someone else- it is a debate about TW getting prefered treatment, but he is not--- it is just that this is one of the first instances of the new rule being used.

I am not a TW ''fan'', but I am not in favor of poor rules, and the new rule letting players be penalized, but not DQed is a good one, just like the new rule about the ball moving on the green.

Like that old fart says====GOW PLAY!, and lets get it on.

Now if they had only exercised better judgement on the slow kid, they would have been ahead by 2.
04.13.2013 | Unregistered Commenterdigsouth
I would have been one to argue in past that the dq ruling was too rigid and needed to be changed. They changed it and now I'm supposed to say that anyone who benefits from this change should WD for the integrity of the game? WTF? These talking heads sound like baseball writers. Times have changed guys...
04.13.2013 | Unregistered CommenterDsl
Skeptic, what are you talking about "rush over to see a putt roll on the same line"?? I have never in all my life heard that being some type of borderline rules advantage. I've played a lot of competitive golf and there is nothing wrong with someone doing that. Standing behind a player while he putts, now that is just downright rude, but not a violation, although many would just tell the person to move.
04.13.2013 | Unregistered Commenterol Harv
Score 1 for the educated posters on this forum/blog. Up until a few minutes ago I either didn't know, or had forgotten, that the DQ rule was changed for signing an incorrect scorecard only to find out after the fact. And I was firmly in the "preferential treatment, TV ratings, TW, etc." camp. With new information (new to me), i think it's good to go. 2 shots, play on. And I'm no TW fan.

I do have to add, as I said I'm no big fan. But it was very impressive the way he held his composure to hit the 2nd attempt with the wedge at 15 after the ricochet into the lake, pretty impressive.

GOW PLAY!
04.13.2013 | Unregistered CommenterNC Phyllis
But now he gets to continue playing notwithstanding he voluntarily broke the "drop from a water hazard" rule NOT KNOWING what the proper rule was in that situation. (Oh, sure, he "knows" the rule, but he did not follow it. That violation is not forgiven by the HDTV rule. WD, Tiger!
04.13.2013 | Unregistered CommenterPasaplayer
Tiger is just lucky that he's not 14 and from China.
04.13.2013 | Unregistered CommenterHilltop
Keep playing Tiger! Fred Ridley, from the Augusta's competition committee along with the governing bodies have all agreed to the ruling. Jack would have kept playing! Norman may have withdrawn, but he would have choked it away anyway.
04.13.2013 | Unregistered CommenterDanny Boy
Amazing that Augusta stretched the rules to ALLOW a black man to stay and play the course. Progress?
04.13.2013 | Unregistered Commenter@aron_NYC
Me thinks that The Committee already tries to protect playeers from themselves. They review as much information as possible before the player reaches the conclusion of the round (ie. Guan) and tell the of their error before they sign. In fact they reviewed this incident. To give the player another third chance at getting their score correct seems a slippery slope. They seem to have made the recording of the score the responsibility of The Committee. When will we start seeing the excuse that "the committee should have told me what my score was on that hole"?
04.13.2013 | Unregistered CommenterForeRight!
Augustan progress, indeed, and close to the truest thing yet written on this topic. He shoould hve been DQ'd, but I agree that, the decision having been taken, he was under no compunction to WD, and there is no chance he would. ANGC must have spent the night with moral microscopes working out how to keep him in the event despite an admission that should have done him in.

No chance he did not know the rule. He too has microscopic knowledge -- this is the guy who found some dodgy rationale whereby a rock the size of a ARockie was deemed "moveable." And had it done. The Tiger we knew from age two would have included knowing the rules inside out as part of his preparation to be Hisself.

Doesn't mean he is the temple of honour -- he had shaded the right thing a few things as far as I'm concerned. Just asking -- I don't know -- but is anyone aware of him ever calling a penalty on himself?
04.13.2013 | Unregistered CommenterGhillie
ol Harv:

My understand of rule "8-2. Indicating Line of Play" is that on the putting green in stroke play you cannot have "Line of Play" indicated to you by anybody other than your caddie. Rushing over to watch another's putt is clearly trying to get an indication of the correct line from your opponent.

Note the rule doesn't say "told to you" or "advised to you". It says "indicated to you". Nor does it even say you can't stand behind your opponent. It simply intends that you derive the line by yourself, not from other information, and certainly not your opponent. **

That's why you often hear snarky little asides by the commentators on TV such as "Phil got over there quickly to his ball on the same line". Watch Phil do this sometime; he clearly tries to make it look like he's not doing it.

** Interestingly, though, nobody seems to care if you intently watch a putt from the side.
04.13.2013 | Unregistered CommenterSkeptic
Chamblee being sanctimonious about Tiger again!?!
There's a shock.
Someone ask Brandel how things turned out with his first wife
04.13.2013 | Unregistered CommenterKarmaiscoming
Between Woods and LaCava somebody should have known the rule. I'm thinkin' that more than once this has cropped up during their golfing pasts. That said, Augusta gave them a pass, one I'd have taken.
04.13.2013 | Unregistered CommenterAG
This poll is badly skewed since it includes the early opinions.....those put up before the clarification by Ridley.
04.14.2013 | Unregistered CommenterStanley Thompson

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Post:
 
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.