Latest From GolfDigest.com
Latest From The Loop
Twitter
Feedblitz
To Get GeoffShackelford.com Posts Delivered To Your Inbox Enter Email Address Below:


Powered by FeedBlitz
Books
  • Lines of Charm: Brilliant And Irreverent Quotes, Notes, And Anecdotes from Golf's Golden Age Architects
    Lines of Charm: Brilliant And Irreverent Quotes, Notes, And Anecdotes from Golf's Golden Age Architects
  • The Future of Golf: How Golf Lost Its Way and How to Get It Back
    The Future of Golf: How Golf Lost Its Way and How to Get It Back
    by Geoff Shackelford
  • Grounds for Golf: The History and Fundamentals of Golf Course Design
    Grounds for Golf: The History and Fundamentals of Golf Course Design
    by Geoff Shackelford
  • The Art of Golf Design
    The Art of Golf Design
    by Michael Miller, Geoff Shackelford
  • Alister MacKenzie's Cypress Point Club
    Alister MacKenzie's Cypress Point Club
    by Geoff Shackelford
  • The Golden Age of Golf Design
    The Golden Age of Golf Design
    by Geoff Shackelford
  • The Good Doctor Returns: A Novel
    The Good Doctor Returns: A Novel
    by Geoff Shackelford
  • Masters of the Links: Essays on the Art of Golf and Course Design
    Masters of the Links: Essays on the Art of Golf and Course Design
  • The Captain: George C. Thomas Jr. and His Golf Architecture
    The Captain: George C. Thomas Jr. and His Golf Architecture
    by Geoff Shackelford
Current Reading
  • The Forbidden Game: Golf and the Chinese Dream
    The Forbidden Game: Golf and the Chinese Dream
    by Dan Washburn
  • The Early Days of Pinehurst
    The Early Days of Pinehurst
    by Chris Buie
  • Arnie, Seve, and a Fleck of Golf History: Heroes, Underdogs, Courses, and Championships
    Arnie, Seve, and a Fleck of Golf History: Heroes, Underdogs, Courses, and Championships
    by Bill Fields
  • The Magnificent Masters: Jack Nicklaus, Johnny Miller, Tom Weiskopf, and the 1975 Cliffhanger at Augusta
    The Magnificent Masters: Jack Nicklaus, Johnny Miller, Tom Weiskopf, and the 1975 Cliffhanger at Augusta
    by Gil Capps
  • His Ownself: A Semi-Memoir
    His Ownself: A Semi-Memoir
    by Dan Jenkins
Classics
  • Golf Architecture in America: Its Strategy and Construction
    Golf Architecture in America: Its Strategy and Construction
    by Geo. C. Thomas
  • The Course Beautiful : A Collection of Original Articles and Photographs on Golf Course Design
    The Course Beautiful : A Collection of Original Articles and Photographs on Golf Course Design
    Treewolf Prod
  • Reminiscences Of The Links
    Reminiscences Of The Links
    by Albert Warren Tillinghast, Richard C. Wolffe, Robert S. Trebus, Stuart F. Wolffe
  • Gleanings from the Wayside
    Gleanings from the Wayside
    by Albert Warren Tillinghast
  • Planet Golf USA: The Definitive Reference to Great Golf Courses in America
    Planet Golf USA: The Definitive Reference to Great Golf Courses in America
    by Darius Oliver
  • Planet Golf: The Definitive Reference to Great Golf Courses Outside the United States of America
    Planet Golf: The Definitive Reference to Great Golf Courses Outside the United States of America
    by Darius Oliver
Writing And Videos
« Video & Text: Players Champ Martin Kaymer On His Instructor | Main | The 2014 Players Championship: Your Kneejerk Reactions? »
Sunday
May112014

Decision 18-4 Decision Revisited...At Ruth's Chris 

Alex Miceli was skeptical of Sunday's Justin Rose penalty reversal and did a nice job getting some questions answered about what went on behind the scenes starting Saturday night.

Namely, when did the rules staff decide to revisit the situation and more closely analyze the parameters of the new 18-4 Decision that ultimately deemed the three TV trucks and zoomed in view to be "sophisticated technology."

Miceli writes about Saturday's (ultimately) mistaken ruling:

If Decision 18-4 was discussed, why was it not implemented?

After the third round, the rules staff had an informal rules dinner at a nearby Ruth's Chris Steak House.

The Rose incident dominated the dinner discussion, and for the second time Decision 18-4 and its applicability was discussed.

By 8 a.m. Sunday, Cox, Carman and Russell decided that the Rose incident needed more voices. Rules officials John Paramor of the European Tour and Grant Moir of the R&A and Dennis were onsite, so they were brought into the discussion with Thomas Pagel of the U.S. Golf Association by phone.

By 11, it was decided that Rose’s penalty should be rescinded because of the use of sophisticated technology, which was the enhancement of the TV footage.

The only thing more impressive than the reversal is the rules staff actually getting into Ruth's Chris parking lot during The Players, the only restaurant I've seen that has police support!

Miceli also quotes a miffed Graeme McDowell who can't understand how the situation got to the point it did where a penalty was revoked.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments (11)

A precedent was set...and imo it was in the right direction.

If they had to zoom in on a HD feed to the point the ball looked like it wasn't even round, then it's reasonable to say that there was no advantage gained.

We're human after all. How many times on the Champions Tour do you think a ball may have rolled up to a quarter turn that wasn't discernible to a sun-fried veteran's eyes and they play on?
05.12.2014 | Unregistered Commenterjohnnnycz
I guess we'll have to wait for Rosaforte to let us know if they had separate checks or if one guy picked up the tab. Ruth's Chris--I'm impressed.
05.12.2014 | Unregistered Commenterol Harv
Being a rules official ain't easy, never has been. Justin did all he could do as a player, full cooperation and acceptance of the officials decision and redecision.
05.12.2014 | Unregistered CommenterNo Longer
ol Harv plus one!
05.12.2014 | Unregistered Commentersmails
The couch narc with HD follow-up is no way to enforce a rule.
05.12.2014 | Unregistered Commentertlavin
Definitely a difficult situation. If Rose had never made any indication that the ball may have moved, we probably wouldn't be in this position. The difference between this and the Tiger situation is that Tiger either never saw the ball move, or acted like he didn't. Why is that important? It's a lot more plausible to make the 18-4 argument when the player gives no indication that the ball moved and someone eventually calls it in from his couch. So in the Tiger scenario, sophisticated technology was needed to see something that the player (allegedly) didn't see. In the Rose scenario, sophisticated technology was needed to CONFIRM something that the player thought he may have seen.

Personally, I think the underlying rule is a little ridiculous, considering a) Rose could not possibly have "replaced" a ball that moved maybe a millimeter at best, and b) Rose didn't gain any advantage from the ball's movement anyway. But the way the rule is written, it's hard to argue that he didn't see a ball that actually moved. He saw something, and the cameras confirmed it.

What's a little scary is that it's this type of incident that could pave the way for, brace for it, introducing instant replay into golf. I mean, Rose essentially challenged his own ruling on the course (not that I'm blaming him). They're going to need to make the caddies carry challenge flags.
05.12.2014 | Unregistered CommenterSeitz
We already have replay in golf, and since we only need to make a decision before the golfer signs his card (if then) it is anything but instant.
05.12.2014 | Unregistered Commentersmails
"The couch narc with HD follow-up is no way to enforce a rule. "

@tlavin, do you have a solution? Is it preferable for rules officials to ignore information provided to them by 'couch narcs'? Should they also ignore information offered by on-site spectators? And, what if these on-site or couch-riding witnesses are colleagues (as in the Rose case) or former colleagues (as in Eger-Tiger-Masters case) or are otherwise qualified?
05.12.2014 | Unregistered CommenterCarl Peterson
Fortunately, Tiger wasn't the golfer involved in this incident. Otherwise, whatever the ruling, numerous fans would have yelled foul (Tiger Lover group) or the opposite (Tiger Hater group).
Too bad video analysis was available. As suggested in a previous thread on this matter, it would have been simpler if he declared he thought it moved, took the appropriate penalty, and continued, case concluded. That said, the penalty seems harsh after microscopic movement following grounding of the club, and no apparent advantage gain or loss.
I've been to several USGA rules courses. I like the way the rules work. But in selected instances, this seems a dumb rule.
05.12.2014 | Unregistered Commentergov. lepetomane
Yes.

If a player or official does not question an action, then play on.
05.12.2014 | Unregistered Commenterdigsouth
Seitz,

Actually, Tiger did react as if he saw the ball move. If he didn't why did he recoil from the stick after he touched it in the video?

http://www.geoffshackelford.com/homepage/2013/9/13/video-tiger-docked-two-strokes-for-moving-ball.html
05.13.2014 | Unregistered Commenterkenoneputt

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Post:
 
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.