Looper and blogger Larry Smich says he's been called a racist for detailing cheating by Korean LPGA Tour players, but that didn't stop him from reporting what he heard about Thursday's DQ of Shi Hyun Ahn and Ilmi Chun.
The reason is that they both played the wrong ball on their final hole and not correcting the infraction before signing their cards, to put it mildly.
Here is what I’ve heard of the alleged incident. Both balls were in the fairway. Ahn missed the green and Ilmi hit hers on. Ahn chipped it close and tapped in for par. This is where it all begins. Apparently, Ahn noticed that this was not her ball and conversed in Korean with Ilmi. In the mean time, at least one caddie in the group noticed it also but did not say anything. They finished the hole, went to the scoring tent, checked the scores and signed their cards. Somewhere, either before or after going to the tent, Ahn told her caddie (a Nationwide looper and only working for her this week) “You did not see anything”. As of right now, I do not know who owned up and went to the officials.
Ryan Ballengee followed up with some excellent reporting and shared this account along with comments from the LPGA Tour:
We have learned of a second account of the situation. The second account is all the same until the green.
When Ahn and Chung realized what had happened, Chung's caddy approached Downey's caddy and said, "We have a bit of a problem, but I'm not saying anything." Downey's caddy went into the scoring tent. Ahn and Chung signed for their scores. Downey's caddy was prepared to turn in Ahn and Chung, which then prompted their seeking of LPGA officials for a ruling and their certain disqualification.
Waggle Room contacted the LPGA Tour for their understanding of the incident. Spokesman Mike Scanlan said in an e-mail, "The players sought out a rules official after their round to explain the situation and were subsequently disqualified.
"No one with the LPGA was privy to any discussions between the players and caddies in advance of the players’ efforts to seek out a rules official to explain the situation. We know only that the players came forward, admitted their issue and received the appropriate result based on the Rules of Golf."