That Was Awkward: Kuchar Closes Out Match, Twice

Rex Hoggard with the details of Matt Kuchar having to take his hat off for a post-match handshake a second time after forgetting to replace his mark during a match with world-renowned former Lyoness Open winner Bernd Wiesberger.

From Hoggard's report:

That’s when Wiesberger’s caddie asked Bennett if Kuchar had replaced his ball mark after moving it so Wiesberger could putt first at the 14th hole. Bennett asked Kuchar and he knew immediately.

“It came to me and I said, ‘Son of a gun, I did not move the mark back,’” said Kuchar, who lost the hole under the Rules of Golf.

Kuchar missed a 7-footer for birdie at the 15th hole that would have ended the match but made his par at No. 16 to close out Wiesberger, 3 and 2.

The telecast portion, posted by PGA Tour Entertainment:

Here are the first day highlights on a largely formful opening day at the WGC Accenture Match Play: