Latest From GolfDigest.com
Latest From The Loop
Twitter
Feedblitz
To Get GeoffShackelford.com Posts Delivered To Your Inbox Enter Email Address Below:


Powered by FeedBlitz
Books
  • Lines of Charm: Brilliant And Irreverent Quotes, Notes, And Anecdotes from Golf's Golden Age Architects
    Lines of Charm: Brilliant And Irreverent Quotes, Notes, And Anecdotes from Golf's Golden Age Architects
  • The Future of Golf: How Golf Lost Its Way and How to Get It Back
    The Future of Golf: How Golf Lost Its Way and How to Get It Back
    by Geoff Shackelford
  • Grounds for Golf: The History and Fundamentals of Golf Course Design
    Grounds for Golf: The History and Fundamentals of Golf Course Design
    by Geoff Shackelford
  • The Art of Golf Design
    The Art of Golf Design
    by Michael Miller, Geoff Shackelford
  • Alister MacKenzie's Cypress Point Club
    Alister MacKenzie's Cypress Point Club
    by Geoff Shackelford
  • The Golden Age of Golf Design
    The Golden Age of Golf Design
    by Geoff Shackelford
  • The Good Doctor Returns: A Novel
    The Good Doctor Returns: A Novel
    by Geoff Shackelford
  • Masters of the Links: Essays on the Art of Golf and Course Design
    Masters of the Links: Essays on the Art of Golf and Course Design
  • The Captain: George C. Thomas Jr. and His Golf Architecture
    The Captain: George C. Thomas Jr. and His Golf Architecture
    by Geoff Shackelford
Current Reading
  • The Golf Book: Twenty Years of the Players, Shots, and Moments That Changed the Game
    The Golf Book: Twenty Years of the Players, Shots, and Moments That Changed the Game
    by Chris Millard
  • The Forbidden Game: Golf and the Chinese Dream
    The Forbidden Game: Golf and the Chinese Dream
    by Dan Washburn
  • The Early Days of Pinehurst
    The Early Days of Pinehurst
    by Chris Buie
  • Arnie, Seve, and a Fleck of Golf History: Heroes, Underdogs, Courses, and Championships
    Arnie, Seve, and a Fleck of Golf History: Heroes, Underdogs, Courses, and Championships
    by Bill Fields
  • The Magnificent Masters: Jack Nicklaus, Johnny Miller, Tom Weiskopf, and the 1975 Cliffhanger at Augusta
    The Magnificent Masters: Jack Nicklaus, Johnny Miller, Tom Weiskopf, and the 1975 Cliffhanger at Augusta
    by Gil Capps
  • His Ownself: A Semi-Memoir
    His Ownself: A Semi-Memoir
    by Dan Jenkins
Classics
  • Golf Architecture in America: Its Strategy and Construction
    Golf Architecture in America: Its Strategy and Construction
    by Geo. C. Thomas
  • The Course Beautiful : A Collection of Original Articles and Photographs on Golf Course Design
    The Course Beautiful : A Collection of Original Articles and Photographs on Golf Course Design
    Treewolf Prod
  • Reminiscences Of The Links
    Reminiscences Of The Links
    by Albert Warren Tillinghast, Richard C. Wolffe, Robert S. Trebus, Stuart F. Wolffe
  • Gleanings from the Wayside
    Gleanings from the Wayside
    by Albert Warren Tillinghast
  • Planet Golf USA: The Definitive Reference to Great Golf Courses in America
    Planet Golf USA: The Definitive Reference to Great Golf Courses in America
    by Darius Oliver
  • Planet Golf: The Definitive Reference to Great Golf Courses Outside the United States of America
    Planet Golf: The Definitive Reference to Great Golf Courses Outside the United States of America
    by Darius Oliver
Writing And Videos
« Bamberger: USGA Prez Wanted Mike Davis To Quit | Main | More Rules Of Golf Tweaks Due On Video Rules Violations »
Monday
Nov182013

New Rules Of Golf Decision: Absolving Tiger 18-4

As I understand it, the new "Decision" in the Rules of Golf to be announced Tuesday provides that, where there is a recording (say, like this one) showing a ball having possibly left its location (like this one) and has possibly come to rest in another location (like this one), the ball will not have been deemed to have moved if the movement was not "discernible" to the "naked eye."

Tiger, you're absolved!

So much for hopes that we might have found a way to make signed scorecards, apparently the last binding document in the world, less-binding should video evidence surface before a tournament's conclusion.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments (25)

Yes, this is correct (also see Harrington some other examples etc) and it's prob a good rule

As to scorecards, if you have non-binding scorecards and someone gets a penalty added say early Sat AM, it could impact the cut. (basically their are logistical issues). I'd be more in favor of a rule that says after play is done for the day, or after you sign your scorecard, card is locked from call-ins. Basically you catch it during the run of play, or it doesn't count.

Of course the first time that happened you would have a host of people screaming that they player should "do the right thing" and WD, rules be dammed.
11.18.2013 | Unregistered Commenterelf
ITYM 18-2.
11.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterT. Mitchell
I ref a bit.I am not fitted with super-slo-mo.I like the idea of no penalty unless discernible to the naked eye. What does ITYM mean?!
11.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterChico
"I Think You Mean"
11.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterT. Mitchell
Bravo, Chico! Agree wholeheartedly that it's a good decision.
11.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterPete the Luddite
Only one problem. Tiger said he did see it move. It's just that he also claims he saw it move back. \
11.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterJim Coleman
you say golf isn't growing, isn't appealing to the next generation--

i say embrace audience participation. Take a page from Simon Cowell. --run a number to text your rules violations into at the bottom of the screen, right on top of the promo for the Big Break.

Involvement would skyrocket. young people would be drawn into golf by having to help granpa figure out "this texting thing" and more rules officials would be need to sort through the texts..Everyone's a winner!
11.18.2013 | Unregistered Commentersmails
@smails...

There was no <sarcasm> font for your post. PLEASE tell me you were kidding about running a text line to call in violations. The mere thought has me reaching for some Tums. :)
11.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterPete the Luddite
kidding....but it would add a whole new dimension.

For example, the network could total the number of calls they get for each contestant.

"Now here's Win Mc Murry with a rundown on rules calls..."

"Thank you Erik K,--

"As of now our Taco Bell Rules Hotline has Tiger ahead on calls, but since Vijay hit it into the woods on 4 his numbers have been spiking...we'll have super slo-mo of Vijay and his caddie in the jungle after this message from Taco Bell...."
11.18.2013 | Unregistered Commentersmails
And if a text was deemed to be accurate and "caught" a cheater, then that person would get a spot in the following weeks Pro-Am or they could have a follow up show where the guy who got caught gets to confront the texter, giving it a Jerry Springer like effect. And the Tour could keep stats on who has the most breeches......I like it.
11.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterBill Hammerstien
Oh, Mr. Tiger, sir, we're so sorry that some people thought you were cheating. We'll make sure it never happens again, sir. We'll change the rules for you, sir.

The message the USGA and the R&A is sending to Tiger.
11.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterOPGolfer
I'm confused. I thought that there already was a rule that pertained to ball movements and such that were picked up by HD TV and not apparent to the competitors ? What is the difference in this case ?
11.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterBrianS
Other than Tiger, who says the movement of the ball was not "discernible" to the "naked eye"?
11.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterJim Beckner
It's a gentleman's game. Unless you're an adulterer. In which case we have couch rats and HD.
11.18.2013 | Unregistered Commentertlavin
The USGA is like a sieve these days. First everybody talks to the Golf Digest writer and now with the rules changes. I apologize to the USGA if Geoff received the details in a normal media fashion but it does sound like people talking when they shouldn't. Maybe muzzles for the staff and volunteers for Christmas?
11.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterNick Adams
How is watching a regular speed of a HD video not "discernible to the naked eye"? Looks pretty obvious to this naked eye. And, I'm an unabashed Tiger fan.
11.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterThe O
I think this is a predecessor for the Rule 14-1b, the anchored stroke rule. They will have to see the club anchored to the body or a forearm anchored via the naked eye and not HD TV. All the people, many on here who don't like the belly putter, will be calling IN And saying I saw the club touch his belly on the 5th and 9th holes. I wonder if a TV guy sees it move via his eye and than has video to back it up, what they will say.
11.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterMark
This isn't about "the Tiger ball". This rule appears to be constructed using that incident as a teachable moment and how to avoid potential future controversies.

@smails- I CAN'T believe I missed an appropriate chance to throw the quote, "you're killing me Smails"! :)
11.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterPete the Luddite
Mark, if it touches the shirt but not the belly is that a violation?
11.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterDTF
DTF no. Brushing a shirt would not constitute anchoring.
11.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterChico
Let me see if I've got this right. Tiger Woods insisted he thought his ball oscillated and, even though there was overwhelming evidence to support he was wrong, we just have to accept his word for it?
Agree with Chico on the naked eye rule. The interpretation part, not so much because its nothing short of an escape clause for the conveniently blind. If you play the game competitively you've been there, crouching down, trying to decide what debris can be safely moved or not. If you take a chance and it moves, you know it. You're that close, on top of it and not 2-paces removed.
11.19.2013 | Unregistered CommenterD. maculata
What are the chances players will be handing in letters from their optometrist to say their eyesight ain't what it used to be?
11.19.2013 | Unregistered CommenterAlly
@BrianS -

The old "hi-tech" rule saved the player from being disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard (because he could not possibly have known). However, the penalty strokes were still applied.

The new interpretation essentially removes the penalty if the movement is so minuscule that it couldn't be noted by the naked eye (or, you couldn't distinguish between oscillation vs. movement).
11.19.2013 | Unregistered CommenterScrambler
c&c: Yes.

And what D. mac says.
11.19.2013 | Unregistered CommenterKLG

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Post:
 
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.