Latest From GolfDigest.com
Latest From The Loop
Twitter
Books
  • Lines of Charm: Brilliant And Irreverent Quotes, Notes, And Anecdotes from Golf's Golden Age Architects
    Lines of Charm: Brilliant And Irreverent Quotes, Notes, And Anecdotes from Golf's Golden Age Architects
  • The Future of Golf: How Golf Lost Its Way and How to Get It Back
    The Future of Golf: How Golf Lost Its Way and How to Get It Back
    by Geoff Shackelford
  • Grounds for Golf: The History and Fundamentals of Golf Course Design
    Grounds for Golf: The History and Fundamentals of Golf Course Design
    by Geoff Shackelford
  • The Art of Golf Design
    The Art of Golf Design
    by Michael Miller, Geoff Shackelford
  • Alister MacKenzie's Cypress Point Club
    Alister MacKenzie's Cypress Point Club
    by Geoff Shackelford
  • The Golden Age of Golf Design
    The Golden Age of Golf Design
    by Geoff Shackelford
  • The Good Doctor Returns: A Novel
    The Good Doctor Returns: A Novel
    by Geoff Shackelford
  • Masters of the Links: Essays on the Art of Golf and Course Design
    Masters of the Links: Essays on the Art of Golf and Course Design
  • The Captain: George C. Thomas Jr. and His Golf Architecture
    The Captain: George C. Thomas Jr. and His Golf Architecture
    by Geoff Shackelford
Current Reading
  • The Early Days of Pinehurst
    The Early Days of Pinehurst
    by Chris Buie
  • Arnie, Seve, and a Fleck of Golf History: Heroes, Underdogs, Courses, and Championships
    Arnie, Seve, and a Fleck of Golf History: Heroes, Underdogs, Courses, and Championships
    by Bill Fields
  • The Magnificent Masters: Jack Nicklaus, Johnny Miller, Tom Weiskopf, and the 1975 Cliffhanger at Augusta
    The Magnificent Masters: Jack Nicklaus, Johnny Miller, Tom Weiskopf, and the 1975 Cliffhanger at Augusta
    by Gil Capps
  • His Ownself: A Semi-Memoir
    His Ownself: A Semi-Memoir
    by Dan Jenkins
  • Professional Golf 2014: The Complete Media, Fan and Fantasy Guide
    Professional Golf 2014: The Complete Media, Fan and Fantasy Guide
    by Daniel Wexler
Classics
  • Golf Architecture in America: Its Strategy and Construction
    Golf Architecture in America: Its Strategy and Construction
    by Geo. C. Thomas
  • The Course Beautiful : A Collection of Original Articles and Photographs on Golf Course Design
    The Course Beautiful : A Collection of Original Articles and Photographs on Golf Course Design
    Treewolf Prod
  • Reminiscences Of The Links
    Reminiscences Of The Links
    by Albert Warren Tillinghast, Richard C. Wolffe, Robert S. Trebus, Stuart F. Wolffe
  • Gleanings from the Wayside
    Gleanings from the Wayside
    by Albert Warren Tillinghast
  • Planet Golf USA: The Definitive Reference to Great Golf Courses in America
    Planet Golf USA: The Definitive Reference to Great Golf Courses in America
    by Darius Oliver
  • Planet Golf: The Definitive Reference to Great Golf Courses Outside the United States of America
    Planet Golf: The Definitive Reference to Great Golf Courses Outside the United States of America
    by Darius Oliver
Writing And Videos
Feedblitz
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
« Lord Tatum: "The ruling body blew it." | Main | Eroding Support For Some Of Old Course Phase Two Work? »
Thursday
Apr182013

Stevie Defends Tiger, Also Says He Should Have Been DQ'd

New Zealand's 3 News tracked down looper Steve Williams at the airport and talked to him about all things Masters, those who think caddies are mere luggage toters (nostrils expand!), and in the most enjoyable portion at minute 12, Tiger's penalty. (Thanks to reader Chris for this.)

Williams stammers and struggles with the situation, prefacing his comments and even giving the likely explanation for Tiger's mistake (confusing the hazard lines on 15), before also matter-of-factly stating that despite the lack of intent to circumvent the rules, there should have been a disqualification.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments (34)

I know I would be in perfect command of the language if i got off a 21 hour flight, 12 time zones from where I started, and a microphone was placed under my nose...
04.18.2013 | Unregistered Commentersmails
Come on, Steve, you've won another green caddies overall. Show the magnanimous behavior of a champion. And, then clean my six iron and replace this divot. Thanks.
04.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterThe O
Good interview.Like the majority of people Stevie thinks that it was a new rule that saved Tiger - not so.
04.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterJazzman
Not only does he think a 'new rule' was used but he also thinks that confusion over red lines and yellow lines contributed. For a person who says more than once that "I can't comment" he had quite a few (nonsensical) comments.
04.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterCarl Peterson
On the other hand, he did give a whelming amount of time for the interview and seemed quite jolly. Now, where can I sign up for that week watching him do his stuff?
04.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterMacDuff
Interesting interview. Whether you like him or not, I'm reminded that Steve Williams is a great caddie.
I'm desperately trying to think of something bad to say about Stevie, but I'm coming up empty. The farther away from Tiger he gets, the less objectionable he seems.
04.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterCOB
Just surprised he wasn't yelling "STEVIE 1, TIGER 0!!!"
04.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterJeff
The O,

That was a funny line.
04.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterLudell Hogwaller
How 'bout a Stevie reality show...

they have some wrestler with a bad mullet and his wife chasing alledgedly bad people who are a no show: M!@#$%^F2#&^%$bOunTy HunTeR!#hash#pipe#%$^%$#140!

Also, a fave of mine: HEY-Duck Dynasty-HEY: Bubba Watson did a video with them. I would hate to clean up anywhere these people are...5 of them, well, they have more hair than a Grateful Dead audience at a free concert at a football stadium in San Francisco...HEY!
Happy, happy, happy!

So Stevie is much better than Adam doing some ''Batchelor'' fake hook up show.... Stevie races in New Zealand-- subtitled as no one can understand the Frank Nobilonians- then Stevie goes to the airport, snubbing Shack lookalikes simply complimenting him on winning the Valvoline 20 the previous nite, then gets ambushed by a reporter as he arrives in the US after a day long flight. The reporter, asks about Stevie, his show, and his fame, then realizes he works for Adam Scott, the good looking guy an E! every other night, as TV networks are trying to get for his own reality show, something about golf or swimming, as much as she knows he is really good at one of these.

Stevie does a nice interview, changes ball caps 3 times, showing his different sponsors, and earning some bonus money, or in racing ''contingentcies''. It's good to be Steve.

Stay tune for Tuna Time Terror next, featuring Captain Charlie Tu Na, and his deep sea fishing boat, the Miracle Whipper.

It could happen.
04.18.2013 | Unregistered Commenterdigsouth
I am tired of hearing that a new rule was used. It was not. Tiger was in violation of 20-7 & 26-1 and the Committee fell back on 33-7 to correct their error in the whole matter.
04.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterHammer
Might not be a new rule, but was certainly a new interpretation of a rule. He should have been D.Q'd he admitted to doing the wrong thing, that had nothing to do with the TV viewer. Failing that he should have fallen on his own sword. That said, a precedence has now been set, and under similar circumstances no player should be D.Q'd ever again for singing their card and then being penalized.eg Dustin
04.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterRocket
"Although Williams was quick to point out he didn't have all the facts in front of him, he did believe Woods should've been disqualified."

He's truly a great caddie. I'll bet he doesn't suggest a club without knowing the yardage, the wind, the hole position, and every other fact to determine club choice. And he shouldn't make a decision on Woods unless he has all the facts.
04.18.2013 | Unregistered Commentergov. lepeotmane
So...exactly why again was he asked about a ruling that didnt involve his player???
04.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterEnigma
I'm still not a huge fan, but like COB, the further he gets from Tiger, the more I like him.
04.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterTodd
He's only echoing what practically every caddy was thinking.

The evidence seems pretty overwhelming that Ridley and team didn't make a mistake in not talking to Tiger. How could they when they had no idea it happened? ...until late fri night.
04.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterLord Taco
He couldn't have been nioer. Maybe he's happy in his work. And witrh his employer.

He qualified all his awareness of Tiger's situation. Let's face it, for most of his life and mine, signing for an incorrect score has meant disqualification. But when your name is Mark Roe (in a decision that had zero to do with the score, just a techno, thanls probably as much to the hapless Swede as to the journeyman leading the Open), the rules apply. When it's something else...
04.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterGhillie
Not really a fan of his opinions. Some of his specific comments in the past were completely unacceptable and on his permanent record as far as I am concerned.

But, I am a fan of his work ethic, dedication with respect to his profession, and dedication to his family.

And, has time passes, it really does seem like he was the one in Tiger's inner circle who was out of the loop with respect to the pornstars et al. Bonus points for that.
04.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterRaz
Lord Taco,

The Masters Officials were told while Tiger was still on 18, but felt there was no need to talk to him for clarification. They dropped the ball there and made a big mess out of something that could have been nothing more than a 2-stroke penalty.

And rule 33-7 was introduced in April 2011, so I'd say that is a "new rule" when you consider it's 2 years old and the rules of golf are 400-500 years old.

33-7. Disqualification Penalty; Committee Discretion

A penalty of disqualification may in exceptional individual cases be waived, modified or imposed if the Committee considers such action warranted.

Any penalty less than disqualification must not be waived or modified.

If a Committee considers that a player is guilty of a serious breach of etiquette, it may impose a penalty of disqualification under this Rule.
04.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterJoey5Picks
and Joe LaCava somehow slipped by TMZ...
04.18.2013 | Unregistered CommenterNRH
The caddie: so in addition to the long putter, another reason not to want Adam Scott to win anything....
04.18.2013 | Unregistered Commenteroxr
Raz- But, I am a fan of his work ethic, dedication with respect to his profession, and dedication to his family.
You may not know that he has raised over a million dollars for the Auckland Childrens' Hospital known as Starship. The NZ Government have recognised his work by awarding him the New Zealand Order of Merit "for those persons who in any field of endeavour, have rendered meritorious service to the ....nation or who have become distinguished by their eminence, talents, contributions or other merits"
had tiger been disqualified ,everone would have opposed it,we are neither here nor there
04.19.2013 | Unregistered Commenterparvaez india
I agree with Steve that rulings should not be allowed to be phoned in and I appreciated the fact that he completely understood that the situation was confusing during Tiger's drop

I also appreciate the fact that he admits to not knowing the specifics of the situation, so it's hard for him to comment.........
04.19.2013 | Unregistered CommenterDaphne
The rule should be absolute. Sign an incorrect scorecard and you are disqualified. Period. Leaves no room for ignorance of rules or misunderstandings. Intent has nothing to do with it.
04.19.2013 | Unregistered CommenterGALF
Correct, and those two boys in Boston were really just nice white guys NOT named Tiger Woods, god forbid. Walking around with exploding pots and pans. This is ridiculous.
04.19.2013 | Unregistered CommenterEnigma
He shouldn't have been disqualified for an incorrect scorecard...he should have been disqualified for dropping in the wrong place (2 yards back) to gain "significant advantage" Rule 20-7c Note 1...and ignorance of the rules is no defence under Rule 33-7
04.20.2013 | Unregistered CommenterAussiegolf
History will show Steve Williams is one of the best caddies of all time ! Most of you on here have no idea what that means ,
04.20.2013 | Unregistered CommenterSteve
Everyone else in the same ' I didn't know I'd broken a rule' could invoke the Tiger situation. How can this poorly re-done rule ever be fairly and equitably applied. The Augusta Competition Committee blew it for all posterity.

Insofar as the dude who called it in, I've heard no one acknowledge: 1) he did so before the round ended (protecting Tiger), and 2) he did so to protect the field.

You Tiger-lovers don't know anything about golf, the honor and the rules of the game.
04.21.2013 | Unregistered CommenterDS
Aussiegolf: your first implies the second. You're not disqualified for an incorrect card: you are disqualified for signing for a total score lower than you deserve. DiVicenzo signed for a wrong card - and was not disqualified. He got a score higher than he 'deserved' in the '68 Masters. Tiger signed for a score lower than he deserved, ergo DQ is warranted.
04.21.2013 | Unregistered CommenterDS
the rule is an abomination, and all serious golfers know that the only time in that situation you can drop anywhere you like, other than the two club length relief option, is when you are keeping the point of entry between you and the hole . Otherwise, you drop from where the last shot was played.
04.21.2013 | Unregistered Commenterdrew
While the sequence of events led to TW signing for a score lower than he deserved, the implication I was aiming for was that in teeing off on the next hole without having re-dropped a second ball to correct the serious breach of the rule, the disqualification should have taken effect from the 16th.
04.22.2013 | Unregistered CommenterAussiegolf
...on the assumption that TW was aware that he played from the wrong place...otherwise the disqualification would take place after the round...but a disqualification for playing from the wrong place...a different stigma to disqualification for signing for a lower score which, although still logically also holds true, but clouds the issue by perpetuating the view amongst many that golf is governed by labyrinthine rules as opposed to the basic tenet of the game...play it as it lies (and not from place you prefer to get a better yardage). Full respect to his skills as a ball striker that he can control the ball to that degree though!
04.22.2013 | Unregistered CommenterAussiegolf
Assiegolf: TW did not commit a serious breach of the rules because he did not intend to drop incorrectly, so the committe ruled fairly. The committee actually failed, as well, in that they ruled the drop legal, before TW finished, and did not inform TW that they had reviewed his drop. In my opinion, TW should not have been penalized 2 strokes after the round because the Committe had ruled it a legal drop. That's what they call double jeopardy. It may have been cleared up before TW signed his card if they had just discussed the drop w/ TW. I'm good with the ruling. I hope golf has learned from this!
04.22.2013 | Unregistered CommenterHefe

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Post:
 
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.