Ryder Cup Spat Settled: Hanson And Ollie Make Up

You may recall that Captain Communication neglected to tell Peter Hanson his playing status in Saturday afternoon's four-balls at Medinah until about 15 minutes before Hanson would have needed to be ready to go.

Hanson blasted Jose Maria Olazabal's communication skills but now the two have sat down in China and agreed where Hanson will send his Christmas card to the captain after all, reports Fatiha Betscher.

“So I do understand where Peter is coming from and the best thing is that we left Medinah as a team, a winning team, and we will still be a team.

“I don’t take his comments personal even though it was tough on him.  But then it was tough on me because I would have loved the opportunity of what I did on the Friday.

“And at the end of the day we got the fantastic result we needed, so I am looking forward now to receiving that Christmas card from Peter, and many more Christmas cards.”

By the way did you know Europe did not merely retain the Ryder Cup, they won it?

That modest reminder from the Captain, who was not content with a tie due to "rules being rules," and who missed a golden opportunity for a historic sportsmanship opportunity, may surpass Monty's career total of Captain-win-reminders by...Christmas.

“The three vice-captains here, and I know Thomas (Bjorn) is not competing this week, but they knew how much it meant to me to win the Ryder Cup,” said Olazabal.

“But in the list of my achievements in my career, including my two Major wins, to win the Ryder Cup was unbelievable and it ranks Number One."